Development of The Asian College of Veterinary Dermatology (AICVD)

Masahiko Nagata, Toshiroh Iwasaki, and Charles Chen (left to right) at the 3rd Asian Dermatology Meeting, Tokyo, October 2005.


In 2002, the 1st Asian Veterinary Dermatology Meeting (AVDM) took place in Taipei, Taiwan. The development of veterinary dermatology in Asia led to the formation of the Asian Society of Veterinary Dermatology (AiSVD) in 2003 during the 2nd AVDM in Seoul. The AiSVD board then began exploring the potential for establishing an Asian College of Veterinary Dermatology (AiCVD), following the model of the European College of Veterinary Dermatology (ECVD).

In 2004, the AiSVD board invited Dr. Peter Ihrke, Dr. David Lloyd, Dr. Danny Scott, and Dr. Ton Willemse to serve as ‘grandfathers’ in selecting founding members of the AiCVD. AiSVD members were asked to submit their curriculum vitae. Under the chairmanship of Dr. David Lloyd, the ‘grandfathers’ evaluated the submissions using criteria similar to those used for the formation of the ECVD in 1992.

By August 2005, three founding members of the AiCVD were selected: Dr. Toshiroh Iwasaki (Japan), Dr. Charles Chen (Taiwan), and Dr. Masahiko Nagata (Japan). In June 2008, five ‘de facto’ specialists who agreed to meet the selection criteria were appointed, forming the initial body of the AiCVD. This announcement was made at the 6th World Congress of Veterinary Dermatology in Hong Kong in November 2008.

Founding members of Asian College of Veterinary Dermatology

Dr. Toshiroh Iwasaki (Japan)
Dr. Charles Chen (Taiwan)
Dr. Masahiko Nagata (Japan)

Appointed de facto specialists

Dr. Cheol-Yong Hwang (Korea)
Dr. Degui Lin P. R. (China)
Dr. Nobuo Murayama (Japan)
Dr. Koji Nishifuji (Japan)
Dr. Tae-Ho Oh (Korea)

The primary objective of the Asian College of Veterinary Dermatology